Best of Birmingham Exhibition: The Results

With over 1,000 entries to our Best of Birmingham competition, the task of picking just 50 shots to appear in the exhibition was never going to be easy.  However, the judges from Birmingham Museums Trust, Brumpic and IGersBirmingham have now discussed, deliberated and debated and have come to a decision.

The theme of the exhibition is Best of Birmingham: photos of Birmingham, by people of Birmingham, for Birmingham.

  • Photos of Birmingham: The exhibition will feature images celebrating the “Best of Birmingham” – its heritage; the urban landscape; green spaces in the city and surrounding area; its communities and people; and much more.
  • By the people of Birmingham: Images will be by the people that make up the IGersBirmingham community – whether they are born and bred in Birmingham and the surrounding area or have moved to the region and made this their home.
  • For Birmingham: The 25 framed prints on display will be sold at the end of the exhibition with all proceeds going towards supporting Birmingham Museums Trust, an educational charity (no. 1147014).

The chosen images will be revealed during the exhibition itself, however we can now reveal the 25 photographers whose images will be printed, framed and sold. They are:

  • Andy Smart, @colatron
  • Ayesha Siddiqua, @s01ash
  • Ben McPhee, @benmcphee
  • Callum Thomas-Bourke, @callumthomasbourke1997
  • Chris Fletcher, @cpf_photography
  • Cliff Darby, @clifforddarby
  • David Bashford, @dpbashford2015
  • David Evans, @dsevo
  • Deano Moore, @deano_mooreuk
  • Ella Mullins, @ellamullins
  • Fay Loewy, @faylouiseloewy
  • Harsimran Singh, @mr.simsingh
  • James Benwell, @jimpanda
  • Jay Sidhu, @sidhu88
  • Jo Round, @jo.round
  • Jon Crampton, @joncrampton
  • Kris Askey, @krisaskey
  • Martin O’Callaghan, @ocuk
  • Matt Beach, @matt_beach_photography
  • Paul Martin, @twonames
  • Peter Paton, @peter_paton
  • Sam McAuliffe, @sam_mcauliffe
  • Satish Guddu, @satishkguddu
  • Teresa Dolan, @weezer.d
  • Tim Cornbill, @timcornbill

The 25 highly commended photographers whose images which will be shown digitally for the first week are:

  • Aaron Dodd, @aarondodd.photography
  • Aaron Johal, @aaron.johal
  • Alex Baker, @xandybakero
  • Barry Whitehead, @bazjayuu
  • Chris Burchill, @chrisburchill
  • Chris Ward-Jones, @chris.w.j
  • Dan Holden, @_d_h_p
  • David Mensah, @dm_photography
  • Iain Swingler, @iainswinglerphotography
  • Imran  Ali, @imran_ab
  • James Furnival, @james_never_jim
  • John Bray, @johnbray69
  • Kalpesh Patel, @mrkalpeshpatel
  • Mark Chambers, @m.a.c_photo
  • Mark Daniels, @spike_j
  • Matt Dolman, @mattdolman_
  • Pete Davies, @petedaviesphot
  • Ronalds Blums, @mrronalds
  • Ryan Beard, @ryandbeard
  • Ryan Garratt, @urban_savage_photography
  • Sam Henderson, @shendergram
  • Sarah Allen, @sabraham2307
  • Tori King-Blake, @ToriKingBlake
  • Waes Kay, @waeskay

Sam McAuliffe has been chosen as the overall winner of the competition with this image:

Capture

His striking capture of the Birmingham canals with The Cube in the background has been chosen by Alex Nicholson-Evans, Commercial Director or Birmingham Museums Trust.

Congratulations all!

The judges were very impressed with the general quality of the entries that captured Birmingham and the surrounding area in all its glory, and were disappointed that they could not feature more photographers and their images.

The exhibition will run at the Museum of the Jewellery Quarter exhibition, from Friday 10th November, with the digital display running for the first week. More information about the exhibition will be released over the next two months.

The competition has also been supported by Trevor Beattie and The Jack and Ada Beattie Foundation.

You can read the Birmingham Museums Trust press release here.